top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureindigodiana04

Time of Our Love

I've heard, so many times, that time heals ...and that time will make it better eventually. I must've heard wrong. Time with you only made it far much worse than I'd hoped for. With time, I started looking at you and realized there's nothing more to your brown eyes. Just eyes. Nothing but eyes! It is true. Nothing lasts forever. I doubted that for a long time only until, this time, when my love for you has finally drawn the line. It may be right to blame time but darling, no,-look at yourself in that mirror. Like we once stood together, admiring our affection. I'd love for you to try and see it. YOU drained my love. For a long time, I have felt contrition. Cried over ever wanting you to let me in. Wondered how our 'love' would've been, if you never took down your guards. Too bad, I ran out of time, your trauma became mine. So many times, you wanted a fire but couldn't bring your flame. I lived off of our tiny spark, long enough for it to die. I poured a lot in your cup, it was spilling over. All while you forgot to fill mine. Loving you slowly turned into a heavy burden up the hill. It was steep. Wow, it's been a while. Good thing many had seen our prime. The time when your eyes shined and you gave me light. I can't possibly forget that, when you and I were everything for each other. Good times. I remember the first time bumping into you, it was the perfect night for love. You seemed easy to be around. And I thought you'd be my soulmate. That means forever right? You had it all. The face, the smile, the height. I valued your charisma, desired your confidence and admired your charm. Over time, I forgot myself and I couldn't resurface from under your love. You said it carefully, "love without you doesn't make sense". Yet you didn't know love in itself. Love was never your comfort, it was your refuge. Your hideaway for your inner child. I saw it all too well. I wasn't your dream, just a mere shield. Protecting you from your past. Our time went by fast, regardless, I'm grateful it didn't last. Well now that I have fallen out of love, there's no more pity to give. My back yearns for freedom from the weight of your wounds. My heart craves to heal from the bruise. I can't let myself say sorry. Because during the time I spent with you, the sorrys only made it easier for you to cage me . I'm happy to be broken out. My time worked for me.

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Hurt Me Again

All I can remember is that first intentional stare. My breath clutched my throat and my heart dropped to my knees, almost like it was...

Court of arms

One, two, three the gavel hits and the rags carry the now inevitable sorrows back home, moved to the side of the road- the riches are...

Comments


bottom of page